2023 Achievement Award Winners and New 25 Year Members

This years Achievement Awards and new 25 year members were announced at the Winter Banquet on December 3, 2023. All told, 43 different individuals won a total of 60 Achievement awards; obviously some members won more than one award. This year's winners each received a burgundy long sleeve tee shirt sporting the Club logo of a man and women hiker and "2023 Achievement Award" below the logo (see photo). This year we also had 10 new 25 year members who each recieved an engraved paperweight.

Following is a list of the 10 Achievement Awards and who won them.

Here is a photo of all of the winners who attended the banquet after the awards were announced.

Millennium Award
This award is given to all members who hike 1,000 or more miles during the Club year. This year there we 26 winners of this award.

Allan Roberts - Once again this year Allan hiked the most miles, with 2808. Just last month Allan became
only the second Club member to hike more than 50,000 miles.

Cheryl and Dewey Conces  - They were tied for 2nd place with 2,763 miles, only 45 miles behind Allan.

Mike Lindstedt - Comes in at 4th place with 2,107 miles, the only other member to hike over 2,000 miles last year.  And it is Mike's first ever award.

Glee Crowder - who hiked 1,545 miles last year and is the current all time mileage leader with over 55,000 miles.

Here is a list of the others who hiked over 1,000 miles last year.
Tish Brafford
Rick Braun
Mary Bruss
Debbie Bucholz (our newest President)
Marti Burton
Patrick Eaton
Ron Elkins
David Kincaid
Rick Kinnamann
Julie Litten
Sandra Nichols
Christine Nitz (has been an active member for over 44 years)
Theresa Ray
Kay Ramey
Mike Seeman
Tom Seeman
Katy Smith
Phil Smith
Jo Anne Starzyk
Cherie Voege
Rick Wortman

Pathfinder Award
This award is given to any member who leads 50 or more hikes during the year. This year we have 15 winners.

Glee Crowder - Although she is definitely slowing down, our all time mileage leader led 203 hike last year more than any other member.
Rick Braun
Debbie Bucholz
Marti Burton
David Kincaid
Harold Crooks
Janet Cohen
Joan Griffitts
Rick Kinnaman
Kareb LeClerc
Julie Litten
Joanne Starzyk
Kathy Whalen
Rick Wortman
Ed Wright

Marathon Award
This award is given to all members who complete the longest scheduled hike during the year. This year there was only one winner, although we had a lot of longer hikes.
Theresa Ray - completed 56 miles. She was particpating in the 62 mile hike (100K) from Washington DC to Harpers Ferry WV, something she has completed 4 times previously. She had to cut it short this year because it was pouring rain and cold for almost the entire way. Theresa still managed to hike the longest distance this year.

Trail Blazer Award
The Trail Blazer Award is given to any member who led 15 or more different hikes during the past year. Everyone enjoys an new hike and this is one of the more difficult awards to win (other than the longest hike that is). This year we have 4 winners of this award.

Pat Lawler
Karen LeClerc
June Sergi
Ed Wright

Milestone Award
This award is given to any member who has attained more than 10,000 lifetime miles with the Club. This year we had three winners of this prestegious award:

Kathy Braun
Katherine Curtiss
Cheryl and Dewey Conces - it is notable that they both achieved this award so quickly, since they didn't join the 
Club until late 2018. 

Trail Maintenance Award
This award is given to any member who has contributed 16 or more volunteer hours on a trail maintenance project, although most of this years winners go far beyond that, sometimes volunteering 100 or more hours of their time to give something back to the trails we all love to hike, mostly in Eagle Creek Park. Here are the eight winners, the most that we have ever had:

Phil Coons
Patrick Eaton
Gary Fine
Russ Himes
Karen LeClerc
Ned Lewis
Frank Povinelli
Narcisso Povinelli

Club Service Award
This award is given by the Board of Directors to any member the board feels deserves special recognition for their service to the Club. This year the board has chosen recognize Paul Klimowitch.

When we first formed the Technology Committee this past year, one of the primary missions was to find and groom a long term replacement for Bob Hackenberg, who single handedly developed our impressive website over the past 20 years. Our website contains a lot of custom code, written in a web programming language called Perl, and no one but Bob knows it, or shall we say until Paul came along and joined our committee. Paul quickly started learning what Bob had achived over 20 years and soon was documenting Bob's code, fixing problems, making enhancements and managing the fiscal year transition, something we have struggled with every year in the past. There is a lot of hope that the transition will be painless next year. Paul has given Bob a much needed break and given the other members of the committee peace of mind.

Indyhike.org Award
This award is given to the indivual responsible for the most photos on the website and Club Facebook page during the past year. For the first time in many years we have a new winner of this award, even Phil Coons perennial of this arward wanted her to have it. Karen LeClerc is this year's winner of this award, the first year she has won any Club award and she has won an impressive 4 different awards today; the Pathfinder, the Trailblazer, the Trail Maintence and the Indyhike.org award. And if it were not enough Karen will be leading a weeklong trip to Gulf Shores, AL next month that more than 50 club members have signed up to attend.

Pinnacle Award
Sorry to say there was no winner of the Bill and Nell Larrison Pinnacle Award this year. This award is very difficult to win and only two members have ever won it - Glee Crowder and David Kincaid. To win this award you must hike over 1,000 miles, lead over 50 hikes, lead 12 different hikes and contribute 16 or more hours of trail maintenance. Karen LeClerc came very close.

New 25 Year Members
The following 10 members have been in the Club continuously for the past 25 years. Here is a photo of 4 of the new 25 year members who attended the banquet receiving a plaque from board member Pat Lawler.

Mary Bruss
Sue Bullock
Dave O'Brian
Lynn O'Brian
Kae Ramey
Tom Roesch
Diane Sullivan
Pat Theobald
Cherie Voege
Richard Voege