Home

About Us

Hike Schedule

Future Events

How to Join

Forms

Mileage

Archives and Articles

Achievement Awards

Logo Merchandise

Contact Us

Photo Gallery

Links

Yahoo! Groups

Club Member Memories

Website Index


HIKING RELATED INTERNET LINKS

Following is a list of links to other web sites relating to hiking and outdoor recreation that you may find interesting. If you encounter a link that no longer works or would like to suggest that we add/drop a link, please contact our webmaster.


Several Useful Overall Hiking Guides
Ultimate Hiking Guidewww.hilehighvalley.com/ultimate-hiking-guide-and-hiking-tips
Hiking Resource Guidewww.usoutdoor.com/hiking-resource-guide-a20.htm
Hiking Basicswww.9round.com/articles/a-guide-to-hiking-basics
Guide to Responsible Campingwww.vouchercloud.com/resources/big-green-camping-guide
Beginners Glossary to Hiking and Campingwww.mnn.com/earth-matters/wilderness-resources/stories/beginners-glossary-hiking-and-camping

Useful Site in Finding Government Officals in your County
Find Local Government Officialswww.CountyOffice.org

Attractions - Indiana/Indianapolis
500 Festival Mini-Marathonwww.500festival.com/
Crown Hill Cemeterywww.crownhill.org/
Directory of IN Svcs.www.greatindiana.com/
Go Ape in Eagle Creek Parkwww.goape.com/zip-line/indiana-eagle-creek-park
Indiana Gardenswww.hort.purdue.edu/ext/gardens_visit.html
Indiana Winerieswww.visitindiana.net/wine.html
Indianapolis Cultural Trailwww.IndyCultural Trail.org
Metamorawww.metamoraindiana.com/
Oliver Winerywww.oliverwinery.com/main.html
Parke Countywww.coveredbridges.com/
Roadside Americawww.roadsideamerica.com/map/in.html
Story Innwww.storyinn.com/
Visit Indianawww.visitindiana.net/attractions.html

Clubs
American Hiking Societywww.americanhiking.org/
American Volkssport Assnwww.ava.org/
Boy Scouts - Crossroads Councilwww.crossroadsbsa.org/
Central Indiana Bicycling Assnwww.cibaride.org/
Central Indiana Wilderness Clubciwclub.org/
Friends of the White Riverfriendsofwhiteriver.org/
Hoosier Canoe Clubhoosiercanoeclub.org/
Hoosier Hikers Councilwww.hoosierhikerscouncil.org/
Hoosier Mountain Bike Associationwww.hmba.org/
Hoosier Sierra Clubhoosier.sierraclub.org/
Indiana Audubon Societywww.indianaaudubon.org/
Indiana Crossroads Orienteeringwww.indyo.org
Indiana Hiking Clubswww.in.gov/dnr/outdoor/5399.htm
Indiana Race Walkers Clubwww.irwc.org/
Indiana Snowmobilerswww.indianasnowmobilers.com/
Indianapolis Sailing Clubindianapolissailing.org/
Indy Runnerswww.indyrunners.org/
Indianapolis Ski Clubwww.indyskiclub.org/
Knobstone Hiking Trail Assn.www.KnobstoneHikingTrailAssociation.org/
Leave No Tracewww.lnt.org/
Nature Conservancynature.org/
Purdue Outing Clubpoc.purdue.org/

Parks - Indiana
Army Corps of Engineerswww.lrl.usace.army.mil/
Big Walnut Creeknature.org/wherewework/northamerica/states/indiana/work/art7796.html
Brown County State Parkwww.browncountystatepark.com/
Crawford Countywww.crawfordcountyindiana.com/
Delaney Creek Parkwww.delaneypark.com/
Eagle Creek Parkwww.eaglecreekpark.org/
Hayes Arboretumwww.hayesarboretum.org/
Hoosier National Forestwww.fs.fed.us/r9/hoosier/
Indiana Duneswww.nps.gov/indu/
Indiana Local Parkswww.visitindiana.net/indparks.html
Indiana State Forestswww.in.gov/dnr/forestry/
Indiana State Parkswww.in.gov/dnr/parklake/2392.htm
Jackson-Washington State Forestwww.in.gov/dnr/forestry/4820.htm
McCormick's Creek State Parkwww.in.gov/dnr/parklake/2978.htm
McCormick's Creek (alternate site)www.mccormickscreekstatepark.com
Morgan-Monroe State Forestwww.in.gov/dnr/forestry/4816.htm
Muscatatuck NWRwww.npwrc.usgs.gov/resource/othrdata/chekbird/r3/muscgen.htm
Noblesville Parkswww.noblesville.org/parks
Patoka Lakewww.patokalakeindiana.com
Pendleton Fallswww.town.pendleton.in.us
Spring Mill State Parkwww.in.gov/dnr/parklake/2968.htm
Turkey Run State Parkwww.turkeyrunstatepark.com/
Yellowwood State Forestwww.in.gov/dnr/forestry/4817.htm

Parks - Local
Carmel Clay Parks & Recreationwww.carmelclayparks.com
Eagle Creek Parkwww.eaglecreekpark.org/
Fishers Parkswww.fishers.in.us/index.aspx?NID=157
Hamilton County Parkswww.co.hamilton.in.us/departments.asp?id=2319
Indy Parks & Recreationwww.indygov.org/eGov/City/DPR/Parks/
Indiana State Parkswww.in.gov/dnr/parklake/2392.htm
Zionsville Parkswww.zionsville-in.gov/255/Parks/

Parks - Midwest
Illinois State Parksdnr.state.il.us/lands/Landmgt/PARKS/R3/region3.htm
Indiana Dept of Natural Reswww.in.gov/dnr/
Kentucky State Parksparks.ky.gov/
Michigan State Parkswww.michigan.gov/dnr
Ohio State Parkswww.ohio.gov/dnr

Publications
Bayou Bill'sbayoubill.com/
Indianapolis Starwww.indystar.com/
Outdoor Indiana Magazinewww.in.gov/dnr/9414.htm

Suppliers
Please note the following links to supplier websites is put here for your convenience, the Indianapolis Hiking Club does not endorse or promote any specific products or services.
Bicycle Garage Indybgindy.com
Buy Pepper Spraywww.buy-pepper-spray-today.com
Cabela'swww.cabelas.com
Camping Essentialswww.camping-essentials.org
Camping Tent Reviewshttp//camping-tent-reviews.com
Dick's Sporting Goodswww.dickssportinggoods.com/
Family Tent Campingwww.FamilyTentCamping.com
Gander Mountainwww.gandermountain.com/
Go4Hikingwww.Go4Hiking.com
Ian Taylor Trekkingwww.iantaylortrekking.com
Light Hiking Gearwww.hikelight.com
Indiana Outfitterswww.indianaoutfitters.com
JL Waters Adventure Outfitterswww.jlwaters.com
Just Roughin It - Hikers Pro Shopwww.justroughinit.com/store
Outdoor Gear Exchangewww.gearx.com
Outdoorzyoutdoorzy.com
Pete and Ed Bookspeteandedbooks.com/inor.htm#BOOKS
REIwww.rei.com/
Rock/Creek Outfitterswww.rockcreek.com/
Rusted Moon Outfitterswww.rustedmoonoutfitters.com/
Safe Outdoor Drinking Waterwww.berkeyfilters.com/articles/a-hiker's-guide-to-safe-outdoor-drinking-water
Treadmill Reviewswww.TreadmillReviews.net
Wild Birds Unlimitedwww.wbu.com/
Wildland Trekking (10% discount to IHC members)www.wildlandtrekking.com/

Trails
Adena Tracewww.hoosierhikerscouncil.org/adena-trail
American Discovery Trailwww.discoverytrail.org/
Appalachian Trailwww.appalachiantrail.org/
B&O Trailwww.rcdi.org/
Buckeye Trailwww.buckeyetrail.org/
Hoosier National Forest Trailswww.indianaoutfitters.com/hoosier_national_forest_in_pro.htm
Hoosier Rails to Trailswww.IndianaTrails.com
Indiana Canoe Trailswww.in.gov/dnr/outdoor/4461.htm
Indiana Hiking Trailswww.in.gov/dnr/outdoor/4240.htm
Indiana Long Distance Hiking Trailswww.in.gov/dnr/outdoor/4238.htm
Indianapolis Cultural Trailwww.IndyCulturalTrail.org
Indy Greenwayswww.indygreenways.org
Knobstone Trailwww.KnobstoneHikingTrailAssociation.org
Monon Trailwww.indy.gov/eGov/City/DPR/Greenways/Pages/Monon%20Trail.aspx
Morgan Monroe State Forestwww.hoosierhikerscouncil.org/morgan-monroe-forest
Rails to Trails Directorywww.traillink.com/
Tecumseh Trailwww.hoosierhikerscouncil.org/tecumseh-trail
Yellowwood State Forestwww.hoosierhikerscouncil.org/yellowwood-state-forest-trails

Trips - Midwest
Bernheim Arboretumwww.bernheim.org/
Cumberland Fallswww.state.ky.us/agencies/parks/cumbfal2.htm
Devil's Lakewww.devilslakewisconsin.com/
Great Smoky Mountainswww.nps.gov/grsm/
Hocking Hillswww.hockinghills.com/welcome.htm
Mammoth Cavewww.mammothcave.com/
New Riverwww.newriverwv.com/
Red River Gorgewww.redrivergorge.com/
Shawnee National Forestwww.fs.fed.us/r9/forests/shawnee/

Trips - West
Free National Park Mapshttp://npmaps.com/
Bryce Canyon NPwww.BryceCanyon.com/